Managing SharePoint Permissions

Question

  • How do I manage permissions on SharePoint? How do I add, remove, modify or check permissions on SharePoint sites, lists, document libraries, and items?

Difference between Classic and Modern SharePoint Sites

  • One major difference between Classic and Modern sites is that Modern sites are integrated with Office 365 Groups. Classic sites come with classic web parts and pages which includes wiki and blog pages. In the classic user interface, the web parts and pages can require customization for many changes whereas modern web parts and pages offer improved functionality, performance and can be viewed across all devices.

 

       Manage Classic Site Permissions                                            Manage Modern Site Permissions

 

Permission Levels

Step-by-step

Adding Site Permissions (Modern Team Site)

  • Click share in the upper-right corner, enter the name, select the type of permission, and whether to send a notification.

  • Alternatively, click the gear in the upper-right corner of the page, select site permissions as shown below, type the name, select the type of permission, and whether to send a notification.

Adding Item Level Permissions (Modern Team Site)

  • To only share certain documents/folders, you can hover over the document/folder, select the three dots and then select share. A send link window will appear as shown below. You can then enter the name or email address of the user(s) you want to share the document/folder with. The default permission when sharing documents/folders is edit, you can change the selection by selecting the pencil icon to the right of the user(s) name. Once you've inserted the user(s) that you're providing the permission to, you can add an optional message and select send. The user(s) will receive an email that the document/folder has been shared with them. Alternatively, you can also send the document/folder by copying the link and sending them the link directly.

          

  • Documents/folders can also be shared by hovering over the document/folder and selecting the circle to the left of the documents/folders name. Once a check mark is shown to the left of the document/folder, you can select share from the top menu strip as shown below. A send link window will appear as shown below. You can then enter the name or email address of the user(s) you want to share the document/folder with. The default permission when sharing documents/folders is edit, you can change the selection by selecting people you specify can edit in the send link window. Once you've inserted the user(s) that you're providing the permission to, you can add a message which is optional and select send. The user(s) will receive an email that the document/folder has been shared with them. Alternatively, you can also send the document/folder by copying the link or selecting Outlook, but you will need to a specify a user(s) first.

          

Adding List & Library Permissions (Modern Team Site)

  • Click the gear in the upper-right corner of the page and select site contents as shown below. From site contents, hover over the list or library that you'd like to grant permissions to, then select the three dots and then select settings. From settings, underneath permissions and management, select permissions and you will then be given a list of groups. Select the corresponding group and permission level of where you want the user(s) added. Once you've made a selection, you will then enter the name or email address of the user(s). You can include a message if you'd like, but this is optional. Underneath show options you can select whether or not you'd like the user(s) to be notified via email that the site has been shared with them.

           

Advanced Settings for Item-level List Permissions (Modern Team Site)

  • Click the gear in the upper-right corner of the page and select site contents as shown in the first picture below. From site contents, hover over the list that you'd like to adjust permissions to, then select the three dots and then select settings. From settings, underneath general settings, select Advanced settings and you will want to change the Item-level Permissions to the options shown in the second picture. Once the permissions have been changed, scroll to the bottom of the page and select OK.

                                                                      

   

Removing or Modifying Site Permissions (Modern Team Site)

  • Click the gear in the upper-right corner of the page and select site permissions. The list of users will show within site owners, site members or site visitors. Select the drop down underneath the group, then select the dropdown underneath the persons name and change the type of permission or remove the permission.

           

Adding Site Permissions (Classic Site)

  • Click the gear in the upper-right corner of the page and select site settings. From site settings, select site permissions. There will be groups listed. Select the corresponding group and permission level of where you want the user(s) added.

            

  • Once you've made a selection, select new as shown below. You will then enter the name or email address of the user(s). You can include a message if you'd like, but this is optional. Underneath show options you can select whether or not you'd like the user(s) to be notified via email that the site has been shared with them.

         

Adding Item Level Permissions (Classic Site)

  • To only share certain documents/folders, you can select the three dots next to the document/folder and then select share. Enter the name or email address of the user(s). Next to invite people as shown below, there will be a drop down; the default permission when sharing documents/folders is edit. You can change the permission level by selecting the drop down as shown below. You can include a message if you'd like, but this is optional. Underneath show options you can select whether or not you'd like the user(s) to be notified via email that the document/folder has been shared with them.

        

Adding List & Library Permissions (Classic Site)

  • Click the gear in the upper-right corner of the page and select site contents as shown below. From site contents, hover over the list or library that you'd like to grant permissions to, then select the three dots and then select settings. From settings, underneath permissions and management, select permissions and you will then be given a list of groups. Select the corresponding group and permission level of where you want the user(s) added. Once you've made a selection, you will then enter the name or email address of the user(s). You can include a message if you'd like, but this is optional. Underneath show options you can select whether or not you'd like the user(s) to be notified via email that the site has been shared with them.

           

Advanced Settings for Item-level List Permissions (Classic Site)

  • Click the gear in the upper-right corner of the page and select site contents as shown in the first picture below. From site contents, hover over the list that you'd like to adjust permissions to, then select the three dots and then select settings. From settings, underneath general settings, select Advanced settings and you will want to change the Item-level Permissions to the options shown in the second picture. Once the permissions have been changed, scroll to the bottom of the page and select OK.

                                                                      

     

Removing or Modifying Site Permissions (Classic Site)

  • Click the gear in the upper-right corner of the page and select site settings as shown below. From site settings, underneath users and permissions, select site permissions. A list of groups will appear, you can select the group and then chek the box to the left of the users name.  

           

  • Once the box is checked, you can select actions as shown below and then select remove users from group. You will then select Ok to the prompt to remove the user(s).

        

  • To modify permissions from the list that shows the groups, select the box to the left of the group and then select edit user permissions as shown below. From the list of permissions, you can check/uncheck the type of permissions you want the group to have. Once the change has been made, select Ok at the bottom right of the page. 

           

Additional Information

  • If you need assistance regarding SharePoint please use the links below.

SharePoint Service Request                                                   SharePoint Incident Request

Details

Article ID: 71705
Created
Fri 2/8/19 8:33 AM
Modified
Fri 6/24/22 7:35 AM

Related Articles (1)

How to log in and access Office 365 applications.